## MUTUAL FUND DEALERS ASSOCIATION OF CANADA

Association canadienne des courtiers de fonds mutuels 121 King St. West, Toronto, Ontario

## **NEWS RELEASE**

## MFDA Announces Board of Directors

**Toronto, April 16, 1998** - The Mutual Fund Dealers Association (MFDA) announced today the appointment of its first Board of Directors. MFDA Chair Dax Sukhraj and MFDA President and CEO Joseph J. Oliver confirmed that Board selection has been completed and a full slate of 21 board members is now in place.

The Mutual Fund Dealers Association (MFDA) is a new national self-regulatory organization for mutual fund distributors. Organized with the support of the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), its mandate is to protect investors and build public confidence in the capital markets.

The Board of Directors is comprised of 21 members, with equal representation from fund distributors, the Investment Dealers Association of Canada and the public.

MFDA President Joe Oliver said "I am very pleased with the high caliber of directors whose willingness to serve will reinforce our commitment to protect mutual fund investors across Canada".

MFDA Chair Dax Sukhraj commented "this Board of Directors represents all stakeholders in the mutual fund distribution arena. It maintains the word "self" in the self-regulation of mutual fund distributors and, at the same time, ensures public input through its prominent public directors".

The members are:

Dax Sukhraj Joseph J. Oliver

**Keybase Financial Group** Investment Dealers Association of Canada

Toronto, Ontario Toronto, Ontario

Sue Dabarno W.F. Gabler

Midland Walwyn Capital Inc.

Toronto, Ontario

Nesbitt Burns Inc.

Toronto, Ontario

G.T. McCaughey Ken Shields

CIBC Wood Gundy Securities Inc. Goepel McDermid Inc.

Toronto, Ontario Vancouver, BC

Fredrick H. Smith Matrix Financial Corporation Saskatoon, Sask.

Philip Armstrong Altamira Financial Services Ltd. Toronto, Ontario

Hon. Thomas Hockin Investment Funds Institute of Canada Toronto, Ontario

Joan Isaacs Independent Wealth Management Port Coquitlam, B.C.

Hon. Catherine Callbeck The Senate of Canada Prince Edward Island

W.D. (Bill) Grace Edmonton, Alberta

Janet K. Pau Canfor Corporation Vancouver, B.C.

R. J. Wright Teck Corp. Toronto, Ontario David Wilson ScotiaMcLeod Inc. Toronto, Ontario

Andrew Scipio del Campo Scotia Discount Brokerage Inc. Toronto, Ontario

Paul Hogan The Investment Center London, Ontario

W. Terry Wright, QC Investors Group Inc. Winnipeg, Manitoba

Prof. Ronald J. Daniels Dean, Faculty of Law University of Toronto

Margot Northey Dean, School of Business Queen's University

Hon. Ian Sinclair Toronto, Ontario

-30-

## For information, please contact:

Connie Craddock Public Affairs (416) 943-5870