Dawn Russell, Q.C.

Joined the Board and appointed Chair in June 2018.

President and vice-chancellor of St. Thomas University since 2011. Prior to that, Dawn practiced law and was a law professor including being appointed the dean of the Dalhousie Law School and held the Purdy Crawford Chair in Business Law. Over her career, Dawn has held various positions including president of the Law Reform Commission of Nova Scotia, president of the Canadian Council of Law Deans, member of the Nova Scotia Bar Council, Public Governor of the Canadian Investor Protection Fund, Director of the MFDA, founding member and Board member of the Centre for Law and Democracy, FAIR Canada and the Halifax branch of Lawyers for Social Responsibility, and chaired the Maritime Rhodes Scholarship Committee.

She has served as a consultant to the Government of Nova Scotia and the Government of Canada on various matters including a member of the Ministerial Advisory Panel on the Sustainable Management of Straddling Fish Stocks, a member of the Crawford Panel on a Single Securities Regulator, member on an Expert Panel to Review Securities Regulation in Canada, and a member of the Advisory Committee to the Canadian Securities Transition Office.

Holds a B.A. from St. Thomas University, L.L.B. from Dalhousie University and L.L.M. from Cambridge University.