Skip to Main Content

Bulletin #0504-M

Membership Information
Annual General Meeting of Members

Contact: Jason
BULLETIN #0504 – M
Corporate Secretary
December 1, 2011
Phone: 416-943-7431


MFDA Bulletin

Membership Information

For Distribution to Relevant Parties within your Firm

Annual General Meeting of Members

The MFDA held its 2011 Annual General Meeting of Members (“AGM”) on November 30,

At the AGM, Sandy Grant, Doug Thomson and Janet Woodruff were approved as Public
Directors of the Corporation, each for a three-year term of office or until their successors have
been appointed. In addition, Bill Charles, Sonny Goldstein and Vince Valenti were approved as
Industry Directors of the Corporation, each to hold office for a two-year term or until their
successors have been appointed.

In addition, Members in attendance at the AGM approved the appointment of Deloitte & Touche
LLP as auditors for the Corporation and confirmed amendments to MFDA Rule 5.3 (Client
Reporting) and the MFDA Financial Questionnaire & Report (Form 1) described in the meeting
materials circulated with the Notice of Meeting.

Effective November 30, 2011, the following individuals are members of the MFDA Board of

Public Directors

D. W. (Sandy) Grant, CA
Dawn A. Russell, QC

Corporate Director

President & Vice-Chancellor
Orillia, Ontario
St. Thomas University

Fredericton, New Brunswick

Lea B. Hansen, CFA
Doug Thomson, FCA
Corporate Director
Corporate Director
Toronto, Ontario
Edmonton, Alberta

Page 1 of 2

Roderick M. McLeod, QC (Chair)

Janet P. Woodruff, CA

Corporate Director
Markham, Ontario
Vancouver, British Columbia

Industry Directors

Bill Charles, CFP
Steven J. Donald, CA

Senior Vice-President, Financial Services

Investors Group Financial Services Inc.
Assante Wealth Management (Canada) Ltd.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Toronto, Ontario

Stephen Geist, CA, CFP
Sonny Goldstein, CFP
CIBC Asset Management Inc. &
Goldstein Financial Investments Inc.
CIBC Securities Inc.
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario

Robert M. Sellars, CA, CFA (Vice-Chair)

Vince Valenti, MBA
Executive Vice-President & CFO
Dundee Capital Markets Inc. &
Independent Planning Group Inc.
Dundee Securities Ltd.
Ottawa, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario

Ex Officio Director

Larry M. Waite
President & Chief Executive Officer
Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada
Toronto, Ontario

The MFDA will hold its 2012 AGM on November 29, 2012 at 11:00 a.m. (Eastern) at the St.
Andrew’s Club and Conference Centre, 150 King Street West, 27th Floor, Toronto, Ontario.

Doc 276284
Page 2 of 2