Skip to Main Content

Bulletin #0548-M

Membership Information
Annual General & Special Meeting of Members

Contact: Jason
BULLETIN #0548 – M
Corporate Secretary
November 29, 2012
Phone: 416-943-7431


MFDA Bulletin

Membership Information

For Distribution to Relevant Parties within your Firm

Annual General & Special Meeting of Members

The MFDA held its 2012 Annual General and Special Meeting of Members (“AGM”) today.

At the AGM, Lea Hansen, Rod McLeod and Dawn Russell were approved as Public Directors of
the Corporation, each for a three-year term of office or until their successors have been
appointed, while Rick Annaert, Steven Donald and Stephen Geist were approved as Industry
Directors of the Corporation, each to hold office for a two-year term or until their successors
have been appointed.

In addition, Members in attendance at the AGM approved the appointment of Deloitte & Touche
LLP as auditors for the Corporation and confirmed amendments to MFDA By-law No. 1 dealing
with the composition of Audit Committee and the definition of ‘Public Director’, MFDA Rule
2.2.1 (“Know-Your-Client”), and the MFDA Financial Questionnaire & Report (Form 1)
described in the meeting materials circulated with the Notice of Meeting.

Effective November 29, 2012, the following individuals are members of the MFDA Board of

Public Directors

Sandy (D. W.) Grant, CA
Dawn A. Russell, QC

Corporate Director

President & Vice-Chancellor
Orillia, Ontario
St. Thomas University

Fredericton, New Brunswick

Lea B. Hansen, CFA
Doug Thomson, FCA
Corporate Director
Toronto, Ontario
Edmonton, Alberta

Page 1 of 2

Roderick M. McLeod, QC (Chair)

Janet P. Woodruff, CA

Markham, Ontario
Vancouver, British Columbia

Industry Directors

Rick Annaert, CMA
Bill Charles, CFP
President & Chief Executive Officer
Senior Vice-President, Financial Services

Manulife Securities Investment Services Inc.
Investors Group Financial Services Inc.
Toronto, Ontario
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Steven J. Donald, CA (Vice-Chair)
Stephen Geist, FCA, CFP
Assante Wealth Management (Canada) Ltd.
CIBC Asset Management Inc. &
Toronto, Ontario
CIBC Securities Inc.

Toronto, Ontario

Sonny Goldstein, CFP
Vince Valenti, MBA
Goldstein Financial Investments Inc.
Independent Planning Group Inc.
Toronto, Ontario
Ottawa, Ontario

Ex Officio Director

Mark T. Gordon

President & Chief Executive Officer
Mutual Fund Dealers Association of Canada
Toronto, Ontario

The MFDA will hold its 2013 AGM on December 5, 2013 at 11:00 a.m. (Eastern) at the St.
Andrew’s Club and Conference Centre, 150 King Street West, 27th Floor, Toronto, Ontario.

Doc 319149
Page 2 of 2